Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries

Awarded every two years, the Kate Derum Award was created in honour of the former Deputy Director of the Australian Tapestry Workshop, who passed away in 2008. The Award celebrates Kate as an accomplished artist, respected teacher, avid supporter of the Workshop and ambassador for Australian tapestry. It is generously supported by Justice Susan Morgan and Alayne and Alan Davies through the Tapestry Foundation of Australia.

The competition is open to Australian and international artists at any stage in their career. First prize is a non-acquisitive award of $5000. The Irene Davies Emerging Artist Award is a non-acquistive award of $1000. All finalists will be displayed in an exhibition at the ATW.

2013 Award
Entries for the 2013 Award are due by 1 July 2013. Further details are included in the Call for Entries and the Entry form, available from the Australian Tapestry Workshop website.

The Judges for the 2013 Award are Professor Kay Lawrence AM, a member of the ATW Board of Directors and artist-weaver, and Mr Jason Smith, Director of the Heide Museum of Modern Art.

A Masterclass with Kay Lawrence will be run in conjunction with the Award.

Award timeline:

Monday 1 July 2013: Closing date for submission of entries

Monday 8 July 2013: Announcement of shortlisted entries

Friday 16 August 2013: Delivery of works to ATW

Thursday 29 August 2013: Opening of exhibition at ATW and Award announcement

Friday 27 September 2013: Close of exhibition

Leave a Reply